The Last Freedom – The Right to Die

After spending the whole of my youth obsessed with sport and dreading the waning powers of old age, I was hugely surprised by the amount of fun to be had in later life. But with my three score years and ten nearly over I am increasingly aware that the next great challenge is how to maintain dignity and fulfilment in the end game. In my 35 years as a parish minister in Broughty Ferry death was my profession so it holds no terrors but the desperate road some people have to travel is another matter. Once mobility is gone, once the simplest actions of daily life become dependent upon others, it is hard to sustain self-respect. Medical science is constantly extending our lives without offering any notion how to improve their quality, so I believe that we should be given a choice about opting out.

